TRC Votes to Repeal Historical Racing Rules

At this morning’s meeting of the Texas Racing Commission, the Historical Racing rules were repealed by a vote of 5-4.
Commissioners voting to repeal the rules were DPS designee Cynthia Leon, Margaret Martin, Comptroller designee Victoria North, Chairman Rolando Pablos and John Steen.
Voting against repeal were Dr. Gary Aber, Ron Ederer, Gloria Hicks and Dr. Robert Schmidt.
Repeal of these rules renders moot the horsemen’s appeal of the 2014 Travis County Judge’s ruling that the Commission exceeded its authority in promulgating rules regulating pari-mutuel wagering on Historical Racing.