TB Meet Champions at LSP


Lone Star Park wrapped up its Thoroughbred meet on Saturday and has announced the leading horsemen.

Jockey David Cabrera started the meet as an apprentice rider and finished as a journeyman with a total of 65 wins. He was crowned Champion Apprentice Jockey and Champion Jockey of the 50-date spring Thoroughbred season. These were his first riding titles of his young career.

Champion Trainer honors went to Karl Broberg, who finished the season with a total of 58 wins.

For the Champion Owner of the Meet, it ended in a tie between 2013 leading owner, Danny Keene, and 2012 leading owner, End Zone Athletics Inc., as they each finished the meet with 20 wins.

Other Champion categories were:
Horse of the Meet: Grand Contender, winner of both the Grade 3 Texas Mile and the Grade 3 Lone Star Park Handicap.

Texas-bred Champion: Lasting Bubbles, winner of the Wayne Hanks Memorial Stakes and he Valor Farm Stakes.

Claiming Horse of the Meet: Perfect Tap – with six starts, three wins and one second.