News and Notes for October 7, 2016

Each December, TTA members elect five at-large directors as well as two regional directors to represent their region of the state.

The following candidates have been approved to run for a 3-year at-large term on the TTA Board of Directors: Keith Asmussen of Laredo (incumbent), Ken Carson of Pilot Point (incumbent), Sonny Ellen of Bryan, Stan Huntsinger of Waco (incumbent), Delwin Lovell of Longview, Teo Mallet of Hempstead, Tracy Sheffield of Wimberley, Bill Tracy of Fredericksburg (incumbent) and Henry Witt Jr. of Waco (incumbent).

No opponents could be found for incumbent North Central Region director Phil Adams of Gainesville or incumbent West Region director Alfred Vardeman DVM of Colorado City, so they will automatically serve another 3 year term for their respective regions.

Ballots will mail to all current TTA members by November 1, with a December 15 deadline for receipt.

October 10th is the deadline for stallion statistical pages or display advertisements in the 2017 American Racehorse Stallion Register that will be distributed across the Southwest and Midwest. There are many advertising options for this resource book for nearly any budget. Contact Denis Blake via email at, or telephone at 512.695.4541, or visit Even if you do not wish to advertise, any TTA member can list their stallion(s) in the free alphabetical index.

All stallions with a paid page in the 2017 Stallion Register will be included in the online hypomating feature, which allows users to hypothetically mate their mare to a stallion and see the full pedigree of the resulting foal.

Any foal of 2015 that passed thorough the ring in the 2016 Texas Summer Yearling and Mixed Sale or is consigned to and subsequently passes through the ring at the 2017 Texas 2-Year-Old In Training Sale at Lone Star Park will become eligible for nomination and sustainment to the appropriate division of the 2017 Texas Thoroughbred Sales Futurity.

For every horse that passed through the ring at the 2016 Texas Summer Yearling and Mixed Sale, each consignor and each buyer will receive a non-transferable berth into either division of the race.  Any Thoroughbred foal of 2015 is eligible to be sold in the sales and nominated to the Futurity.  Additional berths must be filled with an Accredited Texas-bred Thoroughbred foal of 2015 that did not pass through the ring at the 2016 Texas Summer Yearling and Mixed Sale by the December 31, 2016 nomination deadline. Please see for complete information.  Contact Jennifer Gibbs at 512.458.6133 with any questions.

The following is presented by the Texas Thoroughbred Breeders’ Association Political Action Committee (PAC) as a matter of information regarding upcoming November 8 General Elections for the Texas House of Representatives and the Texas Senate.

The Texas Thoroughbred Breeders’ Association PAC has endorsed Lynn Stucky, DVM for House District 64 and Dr. Dawn Buckingham for Senate District 24.

You are strongly encouraged to conduct your own research on candidates seeking election in your district.  If you don’t know who represents you and in which district you reside, go to:

Early voting starts October 24th.  Please do your research and exercise your right to vote!

The Texas Thoroughbred Breeders’ Association PAC is non-partisan.  The endorsement process is intended to draw attention to horsemen’s issues in an election year, increase voter turnout and build a stronger relationship between local horsemen and their elected officials.

NOTES: The Texas Racing Commission will meet next Tuesday, October 11th at 10:30 in Austin.  For more info, see